Executive and Nominating Committees

The Executive Committee is composed of the President, Vice President/Secretary, Treasurer, and one Director selected from the Board of Directors by the Board. The President of the Association serves as the Chair. In the absence of the President, the Vice President/Secretary shall preside. The Executive Committee’s responsibilities are to direct and manage the day-to-day affairs of the Association except as otherwise prescribed in ASTA’s By-Laws or by the Board of Directors, and to perform any duty delegated to it by the Board of Directors as outlined in ASTA’s By-Laws.

Also, consistent with Article VIII, Section 1 of the By-Laws, the Board appoints a Nominating Committee that consists of an appropriate representation of the diversity of ASTA’s membership based on company size, business segment, and international representation to assure that the association has an objective and appropriate level of input from members so that the best slate of candidates for the Board can be nominated for election.

Executive Committee –
The mission of the Executive Committee is to:

  • Act as a steering committee for the Board of Directors
  • Provide guidance and make decisions requiring rapid action
    between scheduled Board meetings
Peter Sayia, A.A. Sayia
Vice President/Secretary
Kerri Goad-Berrios, KalustyanTreasurer
Brijesh Krishnaswamy, OFI

Immediate Past President
Suvan Sharma, Jain Farm Fresh

Executive Director
Laura Shumow, ASTA

Nominating Committee –
The mission of the Nominating Committee is to identify future
leaders for the Association.
The Objective is to:

  • Identify individuals with strong leadership qualities to be
    candidates for the Board of Directors
  • Identify slate for Arbitration Board
  • Ensure leadership of the Association includes a diverse
    representation of the membership
    Timeline: The committee meets from January through
    March by conference call to confirm the nomination slate
    for the upcoming year